Main Towns Main Towns

Orkney's Main Towns

Orkney has two main towns. Kirkwall, the capital, has a population of around 9,000, while Stromness, home to much of Orkney's marine renewable energy activity, has around 3,000 people.

Both towns play an important role in Orkney's economy, housing many of our local businesses and industries, and providing home for more than half the population of the entire islands.

Kirkwall and Stromness have also been the focus of regeneration initiatives in recent years, with a new Townscape Heritage Initiative currently being run in Kirkwall.

Find out more about Kirkwall and Stromness from the links below.